News & Articles

World Para Swimming World Series #1

2017 World Para Swimming World Series –

The inaugural World Para Swimming World Series was held in Copenhagen Denmark March 11 and 12. One hundred twenty-two swimmers from seventeen nations contested the medals in a multi-class format meet. Swimmers of different sport classes swim together and are scored on a point chart to determine the medals.

The Canadian team was led by Philippe Vachon of Blainville Quebec who swims for Megophias de Trois Rivieres.  Vachon S8SB8SM8, won the men’s 200 Freestyle in a time of 2:17.34. Vachon took bronze in the 100 backstroke in 1:13.04. He was seventh in the 200 IM and eighth in the 100 butterfly.

Jonathan Dieleman S5SB3SM4, of Telkwa British Columbia and the Richmond Rapids Swim Club stroked to fourth in the men’s 50 breaststroke in 52.71.

The Canadian team:

Name Club Personal Coach
Hicham Boufekane PSITPQ / C.N. St-Hyacinthe Mike Thompson
Aimee Brennan Winskill Dolphins Amy Canuel
Jonathan Dieleman Richmond Rapids Rob Pettifer
Hannah MacLellan Charlottetown Bluephins Aquatic Clothing Edie  Rogers
Shelby Newkirk Saskatoon Laser Swim Club Eric Kramer
Philippe Vachon Mégophias de Trois-Rivières Charles Labrie